Skip to main content

Darke Engineering is a privately owned company working within the gas and oil industry, specialising in high pressure welded steel pipelines and associated above ground installations. 

With an office and fabrication workshop in Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, Darke Engineering operates nationwide working with a number of major utility networks.

Track record

2010 – Formed by Directors Paul Farrance and David Taylor

2014 – Achieved ISO 9001, 14001 & OHSAS 18001.

2015 – Framework contracts for SGN & NGN.

2016 – Moved into larger, purpose build premises.

2017 – Recognised on Sunday Times Top 100 businesses.

2018 – Awarded largest contract to date; design and build Open Cycle Gas Turbine.

2020 – Achieved ISO 45001.

2021 – Received the Silver Award for best business at the SME Cambridgeshire awards.

2021 – Awarded Medium Business of the Year – Peterborough Telegraph Business Excellence.

2022 – Multi-activity framework for Cadent Gas.

Darke Engineering - servicing the gas and oil industries for over 10 years

Darke Engineering – servicing the gas and oil industries for over 10 years. Darke Engineering now has a wide range of clients and has grown every year.

Fast Track 100 logo

The company, founded in Peterborough in 2010, was listed in the Sunday Times Top 100 of Fastest Growing Private Companies in 2017.

Putting a face to a name

Meet our team

David Taylor - Director Darke Engineering

David Taylor – Director

David.Taylor@darkeengineering.co.uk

Paul Farrance - Director Darke Engineering

Paul Farrance – Director

Paul.Farrance@darkeengineering.co.uk

Asad Rashid – QA/Welding manager

Asad Rashid – QA/Welding Manager

Asad.Rashid@darkeengineering.co.uk

Nick Langham – HSEQ Manager

Nick Langham – HSEQ Manager

Nick.Langham@darkeengineering.co.uk

Jo Curtis – Procurement Manager

Jo Curtis – Procurement Manager

Jo.Curtis@darkeengineering.co.uk

Andy Collinson – Commercial Manager

Andy Collinson – Commercial Manager

Andy.Collinson@darkeengineering.co.uk

Phil Turvey – Estimator

Phil Turvey – Estimator

Phil.Turvey@darkeengineering.co.uk

Andy Clark – Project Manager

Andy Clark – Project Manager

Andy.Clark@darkeengineering.co.uk

Rachel Barraco – Management Accountant

Rachel Barraco – Management Accountant

Rachel.Barraco@darkeengineering.co.uk

Kim Shelton – Office Administrator

Kim Shelton – Office Manager

Kim.Shelton@darkeengineering.co.uk

Mitch Leggett – SHEQ Coordinator

Mitch Leggett – Assistant Project Manager

Mitch.Leggett@darkeengineering.co.uk

Luke Fearn – Project Manager

Luke.Fearn@darkeengineering.co.uk

Mark Townsend – Project Manager

Mark.Townsend@darkeengineering.co.uk

Tom Amos – Project Manager

Tom.Amos@darkeengineering.co.uk

Large, purpose build premises

  • Directors Paul Farrance and David Taylor initially started Darke Engineering in smaller offices at the same location before moving into much larger, purpose build premises in 2016 – a move which enabled the office space and the extensive facilities of the floorspace workshop to be housed together in one unit.
Large, purpose build premises for Darke Engineering HQ

Overhead Crane

  • In 2020, an overhead crane was installed in the fabrication workshop to aid in mechanical lifting operations and reduce both moving plant inside the workshop and manual handling.
Crane and workshop facilities at Darke Engineering

Electric vehicle fleet

  • Our first electric utility van was delivered in June 2021. 
  • The office has installed two EV chargers to accommodate this and our fully electric car already in the fleet. With both vehicles off setting approximately 2,500 miles per month in relation to Darkes Carbon Footprint.
Electric vehicle icon
Darke Engineering electric vehicle

"Working together with our clients we aim to deliver least cost solutions which do not compromise safety, quality and service delivery."

Darke Engineering moved into purpose build premises in 2016.